Nationals win challenge: Taylor was HBP

Nationals win challenge: Taylor was HBP

WASHINGTON -- Manager Matt Williams challenged a call in the bottom of the seventh inning against the Pirates on Sunday night at Nationals Park after right fielder Michael Taylor appeared to be hit in the left hand by an errant fastball from right-hander Edinson Volquez.

Home-plate umpire Andy Fletcher originally determined the pitch had not hit Taylor. Williams trotted onto the field and issued a manager's challenge after a short discussion with Fletcher.

After review, the call was overturned and Taylor was awarded first base on a hit-by-pitch.

The review proved crucial as back-to-back singles from Kevin Frandsen and Denard Span loaded the bases. First baseman Ike Davis then committed a throwing error on a soft ground ball from Asdrubal Cabrera in the next at-bat. Two runs scored on the play, giving the Nationals a 3-2 lead.

Daniel Popper is an associate reporter for MLB.com. He also can be found on Twitter @danielrpopper. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.