CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

{"content":["replay" ] }

Martin throws out second runner after call overturned

Sixth-inning challenge goes Bucs' way; crew chief review in eighth favors Rockies

Martin throws out second runner after call overturned play video for Martin throws out second runner after call overturned

PITTSBURGH -- The Pirates on Saturday won a sixth-inning challenge, which overturned a safe call at second base and ended the Rockies' half of the inning. In the eighth, a crew chief review was initiated on a crucial out call.

Charlie Blackmon took off for second after hitting a two-out single, and he was initially ruled safe, ahead of the throw from catcher Russell Martin. However, Pirates manager Clint Hurdle had the umpires take a look at the play, and after a 26-second review -- which showed second baseman Neil Walker tagging Blackmon on the elbow before he reached the base -- the call was overturned. It was the second runner Martin threw out in the game, and it preserved the Bucs' 1-0 lead.

In the eighth inning, a crew chief review confirmed there was no violation of Rule 7.13 when Andrew McCutchen was thrown out at home trying to score the go-ahead run on Walker's game-tying RBI single. The rule states the catcher cannot block the plate without the ball. Replay confirmed Colorado's Wilin Rosario did not violate the rule when receiving a throw from right fielder Carlos Gonzalez.

The tag of McCutchen kept the score tied, 2-2.

Stephen Pianovich is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

{"content":["replay" ] }
{"content":["replay" ] }