Now Commenting On:

{"content":["replay" ] }

Call at first stands after Phils challenge in fifth

Call at first stands after Phils challenge in fifth play video for Call at first stands after Phils challenge in fifth

PITTSBURGH -- The Phillies lost a replay challenge in the fifth inning Saturday at PNC Park.

Trailing, 3-1, they thought Pirates pitcher Edinson Volquez did not touch first base with his foot on a ground ball Jimmy Rollins hit to first baseman Ike Davis.

Davis flipped the ball to Volquez for the out, but Rollins immediately reacted, contending that Volquez did not touch the base.

Umpires said the play stood as called, meaning there was not enough evidence to overturn it.

Earlier, replay initiated by the umpires was used on the play that put the Phillies on the board. A crew chief review confirmed Cody Asche's solo home run in the fourth inning. Asche's ball just cleared PNC Park's 21-foot wall in right-center field. The ball landed in the first row, and replay confirmed there was no fan interference on the play.

Todd Zolecki is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

{"content":["replay" ] }
{"content":["replay" ] }
Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español