After review, replay officials confirmed Martin's and manager Clint Hurdle's contention that the pitch had hit Rizzo's left foot, hence it resulted in a post-strikeout dead ball, and the call was overturned.
In the the top of the next inning, the Pirates were unsuccessful in getting a run put on the board. Ike Davis tried to score from second as Pedro Alvarez singled with two outs and got caught in a rundown between first and second.
Catcher John Baker took a throw and tagged out the sliding Davis. A crew chief review requested by the Pirates did not find Baker in violation of the experimental Rule 7:13 involving illegal plate-blocking.
"Our understanding -- based on information that was shared -- was that we thought we had a potential obstruction," said Hurdle.
Did Davis feel that his path to the plate was blocked?
"Yeah, I saw a bit of the plate ... behind [Baker]," Davis said. "I don't think any of us really understand that rule, or what is or isn't obstruction."
Tom Singer is a reporter for MLB.com and writes an MLBlog Change for a Nickel. He can also be found on Twitter @Tom_Singer. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.