McCutchen appeals scoring decision on error

McCutchen appeals scoring decision on error

McCutchen appeals scoring decision on error
PITTSBURGH -- Andrew McCutchen entered Monday night's game against the Mets batting .336 -- or maybe .343, depending on how Major League Baseball ultimately rules on his appeal of a scoring decision in Sunday's game in Detroit.

That's the difference between upholding the call of an error on pitcher Octavio Dotel for boxing McCutchen's eighth-inning high bouncer, or conceding the player's side of it and having it changed.

In the play in question, McCutchen's hard smash one-hopped over the head of Dotel, who reflexively raised his arms as the ball kissed off the tip of his glove. The ball stayed in the infield but there was no throw to first as McCutchen crossed the bag.

McCutchen has had films of the play sent to MLB officials.

"What have I got to lose? I did file an inquiry. I don't know how long it takes for a decision; guess it depends when they look at it," McCutchen said.

The outfielder's decision to ask for a call-reversal may have been influenced by an earlier call during the Pirates' just-concluded road trip.

On Thursday night in Washington, the Nationals' Danny Espinosa was credited with a double after his opposite-field drive to left field bounced off the outstretched glove of Jose Tabata.